J. D. Smith

Selections from “In Hawaiian”

OHAI.

Ni hao.

*

Like a wheel
Like a whale
Like a lake in a lane
Like an alp
Like an elm in an email
Like all hell, woe
Like a leak in a mill
Like a meal in a mall
Like kale and eel pie
Like a lame law
Like a lamp in kohl
Like a lone lapel
Like an ankh in loam
Like a lump, a mule
(Like a mime? Uh-uh.)
Like me
Like me
All hail me!

*

I lean on a nail—
A will unlike mine. Ow.
Now I am in Hell.

*

In a limp lineup
Men wave, weak in will,
Wank,
Wean on ale
A while, a kalpa

While women wake alone:

Haul a pail,
Pull a plow,
Make an apple pie.

Appeal.

Know awe. (Wow!)
I am Allah (Whoa!)
Holla!
Whip a woman on a whim, on a wall.
All aim! No appeal.
Keen, wail.

Pile on kohl
Peel a lemon
Keen, wail. Keen, wail. Alone.
Make a weapon,
Make a map, make lamina.
Heal.

*

A man alone.
No woman. None in line.

Online pin-up. (No kink.)
Pop-up.

Oil.

Wankwankwankwankwank
Whupwhupwhupwhupwhup
Whee! (Hooooooowl.)

A man alone.

*

I kneel
in Nanaimo;

Nanaimo,
In me.

*

Anon?
Mahalo.
Alleluia.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

