Marty Cain

from Kids of the Black Hole

BLESS ALL THE RESONANT UNTETHERED THINGS
BLESS ALL THE UNHINGED YELLOW HORRORS WITH FEATHERED WINGS
SPROUTING FROM SHOULDERBLADES EVERY SECOND
& THE BROOK SHRINKS TO THE SIZE OF A THREAD I WANT TO BE
THE SOLITARY MASS & SMASH MY HOLY SKULL
ON THE ROCK & WAKE UP ANEW A LUMP A HOLE
A GOD AGHAST A BABY COLLARBONE COPULATING GLORY
AN APRON ALL AT ONCE EXISTETH OUTSIDE
THE SALTWATER MARGINS & ILLUSORY WALLS
OF DREAMS WHEN I WAKE UP SWEATING
MY ACTUAL WALLS ARE SWEATING FOR IT IS JULY AT LAST
AT LAST I BECOME THE HORNY CENTAUR
OF MY MORNING DREAMS I WAKE UP WANTING
TO FREE MYSELF I KILL MY HORSE
WITH ONE SHOT HACK OFF ITS NECK
& HEAD & WHISTLE WITH THE RADIO I SAW
MY EYES IN MY GLEAMING SAW I BELIEVE
THEY BELONG TO SOMEONE ELSE THUS I CHOP OFF
MY LOWER HALF STITCH IT TO THE BLEEDING
VOID I WANT TO GO WHERE WATER IS BLUE ENOUGH
WITH UNBURNING SUMMER GRASS OUTSIDE TIME
I WANT TO BE THE DUNG IN THE FIELD OUTSIDE
THE MOTEL WHERE I STAYED AS A KID ASLEEP
ON PLASTIC SHEETS THE BIBLE THE DRAWER
I WOULD HAVE BEEN A GOOD MAN IF THERE WERE
SOMEONE TO CUT ME INTO PIECES EVERY MINUTE

Leave a Reply

